h1

Read Write Prompt #14

October 9, 2009

Read Write Prompt #14: Love Poem to your Crooked Toes, or Writing An Ode.

Rhea-Kybele: the human body.

There is nothing in this world
Quite so lovely as the human body.
I pass golden fingers over their cold warmth
And delight in the boundary of their skin.
Sometimes, I hook my fingers under their ribs
And wait for the crunch, the snap,
That tells me I’ve found exactly what I was looking for.
And then I pull out their heart, still beating.

There is nothing in this world
Quite so lovely as the human body.
It is Aphrodite’s in life, and Persephone’s in death,
But, always, it belongs most to me.
I drive the needs of the limbs, the yearning
For completion, for sex. I drive childbirth,
That moment when everything changes, and
Nothing is as important as this new, fragile babe.

There is nothing in this world
Quite so lovely as the human body.
I adore it, truly. I kissed Attis as both boy and girl,
And loved neither more – I loved only the feel of his lips,
Then her lips; soft and firm, yielding and not.
The body doesn’t deny my pleasure; it wants me
As surely as a babe wants to breathe.
Nothing can change that, and nothing ever will.

There is nothing in this world
Quite so lovely as the human body.
The hair, silky-soft; the liquid eyes; the slope of the nose.
The rosebud lips; the gently-curved ears; the arch of the throat.
The smooth chest, breasts, stomach, lower.
Arms, wrists; thighs, toes.
Truly, is there anything so lovely as all of that?
I think not; and should I, a goddess, not know?

Nothing.
There is nothing in this world
Quite so lovely as the human body.
That is the truth, and that is life.

Leave a Reply

