h1

Aphrodite – Bath/Shower Ritual

November 19, 2009

(Inspired to share by Ruadhan’s posting of a shower ritual for Asklepios and Hygeia.)

– Light candle (at shrine to Aphrodite);
– Carry lit candle in procession to bath (full)/shower (turned on);
– [Optional] Use candle to light incense that is sacred to Aphrodite;
– Recite Orphic Hymn to Aphrodite;
– Undress and enter bath/shower;
– Recite (own) prayer/poem/mantra/hymn to Aphrodite as cleansing* (should be long enough to last from moment of getting into shower/bath until getting out);
– Extinguish incense;
– Ask for specific blessings/aid, if wanted, whilst incense smoke drifts;
– Extinguish candle and thank Aphrodite.

* The poem/prayer I use, which lasts (when spoken slowly) for the full ~ten minutes of my bath/shower, is the following:

“First, I wet each strand of hair
Letting the water stream down, down,
Removing the day’s aches and pains;
For you, I become beautiful.

I rub shampoo over dark strands,
Letting the bubbles slide down my brow,
Removing the dirt and dust that clings;
For you, I become beautiful.

I wash away the shampoo that would stay,
Letting the water clean my hair and body,
Removing from my skin the troubles of the day;
For you, I become beautiful.

I smooth conditioner over the ends of my hair,
Letting it temper the ends that would split,
Removing those splits in my life, too;
For you, I become beautiful.

I wash away the silky conditioner,
Letting the water stream down until my hair shines,
Removing dead ends from my hair and life;
For you, I become beautiful.

I massage soft foam into my skin,
Letting my body warm beneath the water,
Removing dirt from my skin and my spirit;
For you, I become beautiful.

I wash away the foam, until no bubbles remain,
Letting my gleaming skin sing for itself,
Removing all ills that hang over me, body and soul;
For you, I become beautiful.

For you, for you, for you, for you,
I become beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful;
Your divine light shines down and I bathe in it as I bathe in the water;
For you, Aphrodite, Goddess of the Body, I become.”

2 comments

  1. Yay! I’ve inspired somebody! Yes! yes… feeeeed the Leo’s ego….


  2. Whoop whoop for ego-feeding!



Leave a Reply

