h1

The Suppliant

December 20, 2009

I set myself down before you.
My bare skin glows in the hazy
Light that spreads down through the trees
And warms your dark, night-bound home.

Girls with twigs in the hair and clothes
Made of the finest spiders’ silks
Watch in silence; theirs is beauty
That is unmatched by all others.

Sobek, snarling god; I reach down
And let my hair fall over your
Dark, curved claws. My skin sings to be
So close to you, dangerous lord.

I brush my cheek against your throat;
I kiss your scaled skin. Smoky awe
Drifts between us. I bask in your
Divine presence, safe against you.

2 comments

  1. What a gorgeous Yule poem. A Blessed Yule, my dear one. Goddess bless. Lady Foxglove


  2. Thank you, and I hope you had a good day too. :)



Leave a Reply

